London's Greatest Live Music Restaurants

Boisdale Presents The Cloudy Bay British Oyster Championship & Lunch 2015

Posted on Nov 5, 2015
Boisdale Presents The Cloudy Bay British Oyster Championship & Lunch 2015

In part­ner­ship with Velocity

On Wednes­day Novem­ber 18th, Bois­dale of Canary Wharf will host the Cloudy Bay British Oys­ter Cham­pi­onship & Lunch 2015, spon­sored by Veloc­i­ty, a mobile pay­ment appli­ca­tion. The event found­ed by Bois­dale and The Wright Broth­ers will gath­er the very best in the restau­rant indus­try for the world’s great­est ever blind oys­ter tasting. 

Host­ed by renowned bon viveur, writer and chef Bill Knott, the event will gath­er under one roof the industry’s most tal­ent­ed chefs (with 14 Miche­lin stars between them), top som­me­liers, influ­en­tial food writ­ers, and amus­ing oys­ter enthu­si­asts. Guests will include, amongst oth­ers, Richard Cor­ri­g­an, Chris Galvin, Brett Gra­ham, Rachel Khoo, and Daniel Kent of Wiltons, London’s old­est and most estab­lished oys­ter serv­ing destination.

Shuck­ing off at 11.30am, the tast­ing will be divid­ed into two cat­e­gories: Pacifics (also known as Rock oys­ters) and Natives and it will con­sist of a blind tast­ing of a com­pre­hen­sive selec­tion of the best British oys­ters in pro­duc­tion by an expert pan­el of judges. Guests, judges and award nom­i­nees alike will then enjoy a spec­tac­u­lar five-course lunch pre­pared by Bois­dale exec­u­tive head chef Andy Rose, paired with deli­cious wines from the Cloudy Bay vine­yards, dur­ing which the awards will be presented.

Cloudy Bay will also present two fur­ther awards to recog­nise those who have made a par­tic­u­lar mark in the Oys­ter com­mu­ni­ty through their high­ly vis­i­ble and unbri­dled pas­sion for the bivalve mol­lusc: the Life­time Oys­ter Achieve­ment Award and the Cloudy Bay Oys­ter Cham­pi­on 2015 award. The nom­i­nees for each cat­e­go­ry, who are eli­gi­ble to receive the pres­ti­gious title and a com­mem­o­ra­tive prize from Cloudy Bay are as follows:

Cloudy Bay Oys­ter Cham­pi­on 2015 Nominees

His Roy­al High­ness, The Prince of Wales

Mark Hix

Sir Ter­ence Con­ran & Peter Prescott

Richard Cor­ri­g­an

Life­time Oys­ter Achieve­ment Award Nominees

Richard Haward

David Jar­rad

David Hugh-Jones

Clive Askew

Sam­my Tamsanguan